Author Topic: Audio ICM3 upgrade from ICM2  (Read 339 times)

Steve McF

  • Test pilot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1302
  • Number of thanks: 8
  • 9-5 2.0LPT.....as was, and now 9-3ss 2.0T Aero :)
  • Location: Midlands
    • View Profile
Audio ICM3 upgrade from ICM2
« on: 03 June 2021, 12:57:11 PM »
I have an ICM3 head unit I got a while ago in good condition. I want to swap it for my ICM2 unit at some point.

Will this need some Tech2 assistance?

sgould

  • Aerobic
  • SST paid up supporter
  • Wide open throttle
  • *
  • Posts: 4940
  • Number of thanks: 337
  • 2006 9-5 Aero estate - Hirsched.
  • Location: Herts, UK
    • View Profile
    • Christine Bennett - soprano
Re: Audio ICM3 upgrade from ICM2
« Reply #1 on: 03 June 2021, 02:45:47 PM »
Possibly.  But best to do it anyway with a Tech2 "Add".

If the old unit has come from a similar car, it might work.  The 9-3 uses Add/Remove to get items recognised on the computer network. It's not a VIN linked security system for the audio, at least. But although it may appear to work OK, there might be some obscure option that comes to light later which doesn't work.
Help support SaabTechTalk by making a Lump Sum donation or by opening a subscription. 
Options available are in your Profile/Actions.

Steve McF

  • Test pilot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1302
  • Number of thanks: 8
  • 9-5 2.0LPT.....as was, and now 9-3ss 2.0T Aero :)
  • Location: Midlands
    • View Profile
Re: Audio ICM3 upgrade from ICM2
« Reply #2 on: 21 June 2021, 11:04:44 PM »
If I book the car in for a service at WMSS, I'm tempted to ask them to fit the ICM3 and use their Tech2 to get it working!!

sgould

  • Aerobic
  • SST paid up supporter
  • Wide open throttle
  • *
  • Posts: 4940
  • Number of thanks: 337
  • 2006 9-5 Aero estate - Hirsched.
  • Location: Herts, UK
    • View Profile
    • Christine Bennett - soprano
Re: Audio ICM3 upgrade from ICM2
« Reply #3 on: 22 June 2021, 09:17:16 AM »
It will only be a cosmetic upgrade.  If you want satnav, you need all the extra gubbins in the boot - DVD player, satnav unit, GPS shark fin, optic fibre extension, etc.
Help support SaabTechTalk by making a Lump Sum donation or by opening a subscription. 
Options available are in your Profile/Actions.

Steve McF

  • Test pilot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1302
  • Number of thanks: 8
  • 9-5 2.0LPT.....as was, and now 9-3ss 2.0T Aero :)
  • Location: Midlands
    • View Profile
Re: Audio ICM3 upgrade from ICM2
« Reply #4 on: 22 June 2021, 12:54:26 PM »
Hi Will, oh yes I know. I can't be bothered to go to those lengths to get a very old SatNav to work!!!! I have an up to date Tom Tom  (and also an older Tom Tom!!!) I can use, but the ICM3 unit just looks much better. Presumably the power output will not change between ICM2 and ICM3?

sgould

  • Aerobic
  • SST paid up supporter
  • Wide open throttle
  • *
  • Posts: 4940
  • Number of thanks: 337
  • 2006 9-5 Aero estate - Hirsched.
  • Location: Herts, UK
    • View Profile
    • Christine Bennett - soprano
Re: Audio ICM3 upgrade from ICM2
« Reply #5 on: 22 June 2021, 01:08:02 PM »
I think that they are interchangeable.  It might work without a Tech2 "Add", but it's a critical part of the computer system and needs to work all the time, with all the other bits.   It might appear to work, and it might do that, but there might also be some connection that's hidden in a corner of the network that causes a problem sometime in the future, if t's not properly connected.
Help support SaabTechTalk by making a Lump Sum donation or by opening a subscription. 
Options available are in your Profile/Actions.